The Beauty of Things I Didn’t Plant

Carrot plant

This carrot plant, left in the ground for its second year, produced some spectacular blooms.

I’ve worked hard on my garden, and I’m pleased with its progress. Sometimes, though, much of its beauty lies in the wild bits, in the things I didn’t plant. Here are a few of them…

Bumblebee on motherwort

The motherwort that plants itself with exuberant abundance is beloved of the bees, both honeybees and, as this photo shows, bumblebees.

Orange head moth

Other insects love the motherwort too. I’m not sure what kind of moth this is, but I was taken by the beauty of its orange head and the patch of iridescent blue on its otherwise gray wings.

Caterpillar

This caterpillar made itself at home in the garden, but I couldn’t begrudge it a few leaves.

Sometimes, the best things in life really are free–not just of money, but of labor.

One comment

  1. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I love the carrot plant blooms that looks similar to what my grandma called Queen Anne’s Lace. Maybe that’s an alternate name, maybe not.

    Thank you for sticking up for the “weeds.” Your post reminds me of another blogger who appreciates bees, which don’t discriminate between weeds and “proper” flowers. Both help pollinate our world: https://jennsmidlifecrisis.wordpress.com/2016/06/22/wilderness-wednesday-early-sunrise-coreopsis/

Leave a Reply

