Unexpected Turkeys

Turkey tracks

The mysterious tracks

I emerged from my grandma’s assisted living facility last week, blinking in the unaccustomed sunshine. It had been a routine visit; believe you me, when you’re visiting someone who’s 96 years old, the lack of surprises is a good thing. But surprises were yet to come…

Startled, I peered down at the tracks in the snow just ahead of my boots. “Are those TURKEY tracks?” I asked myself, incredulous.

If they were, this turkey apparently owned a vehicle and intended to depart, so purposefully did the tracks march toward the parking lot.

I was just about to convince myself I was mistaken when I looked up. Lo and behold, there was indeed a turkey, posing like it owned the assisted living facility and all its environs.

Lone turkey in parking lot

The turkey surveying its domain

It wasn’t long before several other birds joined this Avian Noble, and they proceeded to strut about calmly, not deigning to notice passing cars or people.

Three turkeys

The avian friends gather

I called my grandma that night, expressing my surprise at the unexpected turkeys. “Oh yes,” she exclaimed. “They’re regulars around here. Sometimes they peck at the door like they want someone to let them in. They’re kind of pets for us. I think an old lady feeds them.”

It just goes to show that life is full of surprises, and some of those surprises strut around like they own the place.

3 comments

  1. Choice line: “I think an old lady feeds them.” This from your 96-year-old Grandma!

  2. I wonder if they’d be strutting about quite so confidently at Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

