Returning to my Moments

Sage and Court bond with nature before the snow falls.

Sage and Court bond with nature before the snow falls.

Almost five days of time away from work have finally reduced, although not eliminated, my screen fatigue. (As much as I love my job, I leave it at the end of each day feeling like I never want to turn on a computer again.)

At last, though, I’m ready to return to my long-neglected blog. I’ve been debating about its direction; I was recently diagnosed with gluten and dairy intolerance, and while changing my diet has had a LOT of positive effects, it’s had a major impact on how I cook and eat. Part of me feels like I should be sharing my experience with others in a similar situation, but the other part just wants this blog to stick with the pretty aspects of life, not the arduous but necessary ones.

If anyone happens to be reading this and is interested in comparing notes about livin’ la vida g-free, I’d be more than happy to correspond and/or post about topics you think might be interesting.

In the meantime, though, I’m going to post a couple of pictures from the lovely fall day a few weeks ago so that I can keep the memory fresh in my mind, especially since I was negligent yesterday and didn’t get out my camera despite the day’s unexpected beauty.

After an unseasonable, long, and rather depressing cold snap, yesterday’s temperature rose into the 40s, which seems tropical now; there was a trickling of melt water, and some of my bees even ventured out to take their cleansing flights. (“Cleansing flight” is the term I read in the bee books, and I find it much more poetic–almost inspirational–than its actual purpose, which is bees flying out to poop so they don’t mess up the hive’s interior.)

I feel a little guilty about not photographing Sage in the snow, squinting through his binoculars as he searched for birds, but at least the pictures I do have capture the boy/dog/nature triad that I want so much to preserve. And as my husband so wisely pointed out, a life lived peering through a lens, desperate to preserve the past even while it’s still the present, hasn’t been fully lived.

So I’m going to post this now, get off the computer, and go do some living.

Sage clearly felt that leaves are made for flying, so he was doing his best to launch them.

Sage clearly felt that leaves are made for flying, so he was doing his best to launch them.

Sage contemplates the fall scenery.

Sage contemplates the fall scenery.

Sage proves that angels are multi-media; if you can't work in snow, you can do a fine angel in fallen leaves.

Sage proved that angels are multi-media; if you can’t work in snow, you can do a fine angel in fallen leaves.

2 comments

  1. Jane Walsh · · Reply

    Rebecca, thanks once more for the Whitebody Report! Jane

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Welcome back, Rebecca!

Leave a Reply

