The Chickadee Roommate

The aspiring roommate stares longingly into Sage's room.

The aspiring roommate stares longingly into Sage’s room.

This poor little chickadee has been languishing in my photo files for quite awhile now; the bees’ arrival pushed his avian dreams into the background. Things are pretty quite right now, though–the garden is planted, and the bees are humming along–so I’ll put up this picture of the bird who, for a period of about two weeks this spring, apparently desperately wanted to be Sage’s roommate. He would fling himself against the window and cling to the screen (much to my husband’s annoyance), then stare longingly into Sage’s bedroom. Frankly, had this chickadee not been so cute, it would have been a little frightening.

Happily, Sage’s window isn’t easily opened, so Sage could never test my hypothesis that the bird would be absolutely terrified if he got his way and entered the house. (I could see Sage was thinking about it, though.) It’s just was well; day after day of guilt from that feathery outcast might have cracked me eventually.

Eventually, the chickadee realized that he had to move on with his life, and the window has remained bird-free for quite some time now. I just hope that Sage’s feathered friend has established a happy and productive life despite having his dreams shattered so cruelly.

As for me, I’m trying to take the chickadee’s story as a valuable reminder that sometimes it’s best if I don’t get my way, even if I HAVE been doggedly flinging myself against windows of possibility. Still, it’s a hard lesson to learn.

At least I can always go outside to commiserate with my fellow dreamer.

2 comments

  1. It is comforting to know that even animals are resistant to change. It must be innate 🙂

  2. A good life lesson there 🙂

Leave a Reply

