Blog Tour: Let the Chain Be Unbroken!

This picture of Sage and a cow has nothing to do with the contents of this post, but I need a picture, and my son is cute. As are cows.

This picture of Sage and a cow has nothing to do with the contents of this post, but I need a picture, and my son is cute. As are cows.

Traci Carver, whom I consider the Goddess of the Blog (using the logic that anyone who could teach a full day of English class and still have the energy to write blog entries and, more superhumanly, still have a sense of humor after a day of surly teens), has tagged me for the blog tour, and far be it from me to leave the chain unbroken.

1. What am I working on now?

I’m afraid that this blog represents the extent of my non-work-related writing at this point. Ultimately, I’d like to write a biography of my grandmother, Naomi Kimball Harris, whose life story has all the drama and inspirational value of a major work of fiction. I’d started that project last summer, assembling the stories on my blog Naomi’s Story, but that project has kind of fizzled lately due to multiple jobs and needy offspring. (OK, I confess there’s only ONE needy offspring, but he can, and will, generate a whole brood’s worth of neediness when he wants to.) Anyway, I’d like to eventually expand and organize her anecdotes into a cohesive narrative.

2. How does my work differ from others in the genre?

To be honest, it probably doesn’t. I’d started Moments of Unexpected Beauty to try to record all the moments of beauty, inspiration, or hilarity that I didn’t want to lose to time. I’d all too often experienced something that I was sure I’d never forget, only to realize it had drifted into the fuzzy void within days. I’m attempting to combat that frustrating amnesia by writing.

3. Why do I write what I do?

In addition to keeping this blog as a personal memoir, I’m trying to write things that I would want to read if someone else wrote them. I’m especially interested in a self-sufficient, back-to-the-land, tree hugger type lifestyle, so I’m recording as much as I can about my (often laughable) attempts to be One with Nature. My latest endeavor has been the beekeeping enterprise, which has so far yielded mixed results but has definitely been worth trying, so I’ve been writing about that. I also like reading funny things, so I’m doing my darndest to be as funny as possible (an effort which, like my beekeeping, often yields mixed results.)

4. How does my writing process work?

My attempts to be a loyal, disciplined writer have proved futile; I’d envisioned blocking off a designated writing time every day and sticking to it, inspiration or none. Unfortunately, I’ve had to yield to reality and stick to writing when I experience something so incredibly wonderful, or Sage says something so incredibly hilarious, that it Must Be Recorded Now.

Tag time!

I now tag Katherine Schneider’s blog www.kathiecomments.wordpress.com. Dr. Schneider is a retired clinical psychologist and author of several books whose acquaintance I’ve recently had the privilege of making. Her blindness hasn’t kept her from accomplishing several lifetimes’ worth of achievements, and her work and generosity on behalf of people with disabilities has helped make life in our community much, much better. Plus, she has a really cute seeing eye dog.

I also tag Kathryn Stinson’s blog The North Node. Kathryn, a psychotherapist and writer, has more profound thoughts than you can shake a stick at, and she’s willing to share them with her adoring fans, of which I am one.

I hope anyone reading this enjoys their blogs as much as I do. The baton passes to you, my friends!

6 comments

  1. I like your title and the wry humor you, like Traci, unfailingly deliver.

    Your bee-inspired posts have hooked my interest lately. Most of them I’ve shared with beekeeper son Joel. Thanks for introducing us to two new bloggers, interestingly both of them psychologists. It seems to me the blind one would have the gift of vision beyond normal sight, like the Greek prophet Teresias.

    If the whole point of the Blog Tour is expanding our horizons, it’s working – for me at least. Thanks, Rebecca!

    1. Thank you very much for your kind words! I hope Joel is the tolerant type, since some of my actions as a novice beekeeper would likely make an experienced one cringe. I’ve just been checking on my one remaining hive by crawling underneath it and looking up through the mesh, but I’ll have to work up the courage to try opening it and inspecting the combs more closely at some point in the near future. I’ll be writing about it when I do–I’m truly hoping it will be a story of comedy rather than tragedy…

  2. The bee escapades have been some of my favorites, and I know it’s because The Secret Life of Bees hooked me with that process. But I do hope to see more about Mrs. Naomi 🙂

    1. Funny you should mention Mrs. Naomi…I’m actually taking her to visit Katherine Schneider, whose blog I recommended, for the first time today. Grandma’s losing her eyesight and, as a lifelong reader and fiercely independent person, she’s not going quietly into that good night. I’m hoping that Dr. Schneider will be able to reassure her that life can be full even without vision. (At least without LITERAL vision…)

  3. Your grandmothers story sounds like it would be a good read

    1. Thank you; I’ll try to take it up again and give it the telling it deserves. I appreciate your encouragement in this endeavor!

Leave a Reply

