Apples on a winter tree

An apple tree in winter

An apple tree in winter

Yesterday I took advantage of a “warm up” (temperatures slightly above zero!!!) to refill the bird feeders, and I was both pleased and amazed to realize that despite a spell of the coldest weather in decades, one of my apple trees is still stubbornly clinging to its fruit. Maybe I shouldn’t encourage its mania–those shriveled little globes might harbor happily slumbering coddling moth larvae or some other noxious pest, making them wombs that gestate destruction–but I can’t bring myself to embark on a Search and Destroy mission. There’s something heartening in those tenacious little apples’ refusal to fall. Come what may, I won’t be the one to cut short their sojourn in the winter sun.

One of the winter apples close up

One of the winter apples close up

Chaussette under the apple tree

Chaussette under the apple tree

2 comments

  1. Just reading your post makes my teeth chatter! 🙂

    1. I’m hoping they don’t chatter TOO much! At least this extreme cold really instills an appreciation of warmth… > Date: Mon, 20 Jan 2014 13:50:57 +0000 > To: reharris68@hotmail.com >

Leave a Reply

