The Wisconsin governor’s proof that he cares for the little people

Governor’s health care letter

A few weeks ago, I wrote to Governor Walker to tell him exactly how much my quality of life has decreased since he took office; I’d had to edit the letter down to fit within the character limit on his website, but the basic letter was posted on my blog a few entries ago. I got a robo-message promising a personal response but, since I don’t have the money or inclination to give him ONE dollar, let alone one million, I figured he wouldn’t bother. That’s why I was pleasantly surprised to see a personal message in my in-box–not, of course, from Governor Walker himself, but from Medicaid Director Brett Davis.

Still, I thought that maybe I’d misjudged the governor–whom I’ve resented ever since he made a distinction between “teachers” and “people”–and was ready to hear a thoughtful response to the plight of low-wage workers like me who have to choose between medical care and mortgage payments.

I was placated by the first two paragraphs, in which Mr. Davis thanked me for writing, explained that Governor Walker “appreciates and understands” my concerns, and said that the governor’s reforms are designed to “make sure someone in your situation has affordable health insurance.”

“Great!” I thought. “Maybe the governor has created a viable alternative to the “Obamacare” he’s been trying so desperately to kill!”

I read on, hoping to see what the Republican strategy for providing affordable health insurance to the working poor might be. I was shocked, horrified, disgusted, and perversely amused to read the following:

“You may now apply for private health insurance through the federal Marketplace…there is federal financial assistance to purchase private insurance in the Marketplace, making coverage more affordable than options you have had available to you in the past.”

Governor Walker is reforming health care by REFERRING POOR PEOPLE TO OBAMACARE! The same plan he campaigned so viciously against, the one he claimed would destroy the economy! He refused to set up a health care exchange in Wisconsin, meaning that all Wisconsinites are forced to apply to the sadly overburdened federal Marketplace. (My application has been languishing “in progress” for almost two weeks now.)

I’m sorry if anyone who happens to read this is a Republican–I’m sure you’re a decent, compassionate person at heart–but I’m so completely overwhelmed by the hypocrisy and shameless manipulation in this letter that I want everyone to know how our Republican governor shows his “compassion.”

You can see the whole letter by opening the link at the beginning of my post.

2 comments

  1. I admire your chutzpah, Rebecca. You have taken the bull by the horns whatever the outcome. Your stance reminds me of our neighborhood’s taking on the retail behemoth Wal-Mart. We didn’t keep them from expanding, but we got 13 concessions to enhance the quality of life in our community that would never have been granted if we hadn’t made such a big fuss.

    1. Congratulations on getting the concessions from Wal-Mart! I’m afraid my little bull-horn pulling experience hasn’t been as fruitful; the governor had a lackey call me and suggest that I sign up for the state insurance program, but at least it’s looking like THAT will pan out. (For two months, anyway, until we get kicked off on the assumption we can get healthcare through the federal site…) But that’s some progress, anyway, so I’m still feeling a bit better about the situation. I hope all’s well with you and that you have a happy Halloween!

      > Date: Mon, 28 Oct 2013 20:06:02 +0000 > To: reharris68@hotmail.com >

Leave a Reply

