Return of the bees

One of the triumphantly returning honeybees collects motherwort nectar.

One of the triumphantly returning honeybees collects motherwort nectar.

I’d been disconcerted by the silence of the fruit trees this spring, although judging from the number of baby apples currently swelling, the bumblebees and native bees clearly made up for the lack of honeybees this year. But apparently the recently-blooming motherwort plants sang to them with a floral siren song, because they’re now swarming with honeybees in addition to bumblebees.

I developed a new respect for wildlife photographers when trying to get a picture of the honeybees; it took quite awhile before I could get an image that wasn’t motherwort with blurry spots. My results won’t win any prizes, but I want to preserve the bees’ return for posterity and to remind myself to leave the Land of the Worst Case Scenario, where I spend too much time. I’d been envisioning a literally fruitless summer, but the bees belied me. I need to remember that there’s more to the world than what I can see or anticipate; even the loneliest flower will meet its bee eventually.

4 comments

  1. Since I know you are a woman who loves a great read, if you haven’t encountered The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd, it’s one of my favorites. You’ll appreciate bees even more afterwards 🙂

    1. I have indeed read it, and I share your opinion; it’s one of the first books that got me interested in having my own bees someday. (I’m a sucker for literature that peppers its plot with educational tidbits; it makes me feel like I’m not just selfishly wasting time reading something fun–I’m LEARNING.) It’s great to hear from you, by the way. I hope you’re doing better and that basking in the adulation of your fans has proved at least somewhat therapeutic. I know I missed you, and I wasn’t the only one! > Date: Sat, 20 Jul 2013 21:49:26 +0000 > To: reharris68@hotmail.com >

  2. My son Joel is experiencing the Secret Life of Bees by having his own hive in the city. He gets his boys involved and seems to be thrilled at doing something positive for the environment. However, he pours pounds of sugar water into the hive right now. I thought bees we supposed to produce the sweet stuff from flowers. Ha! Enjoyed the topic.

    1. I’ve never kept bees myself–just read about them and admired them in action–but apparently bees need supplementary sugar water when the hive is first being established, especially if there’s not much blooming at the time. Hopefully Joel’s bees will soon be self-sufficient; I also read that urban bees actually fare better than country ones because so many city folk regularly water their flowers, so there’s a more constant nectar supply. Thanks for your kind words, and I hope you’re doing well! > Date: Fri, 9 Aug 2013 12:49:37 +0000 > To: reharris68@hotmail.com >

Leave a Reply

