The Imagination Face

The imagination face

The imagination face

A few days ago, my son Sage solemnly informed me that he could make trees and houses talk in his head.

“That’s because you have a good imagination,” I told him.

“I do NOT have an imagination!” he informed me indignantly.

“But,” I replied, bemused, “an imagination is what lets you make the trees and houses talk in your head.”

“It does NOT!” His indignation was even more intense now. “I can do it because I’m a very talented boy!”

Well, I wasn’t going to argue THAT point, so I let the conversation drop. The next day, though, he conceded that he did indeed have an imagination, but only when he was making an “imagination face.” He declined to demonstrate at the time but later was gracious enough to offer a demonstration.

Behold, therefore, the first photographic rendering of the “imagination face.” May it inspire you as much as it seems to have done him.

6 comments

  1. Tell him I love it! I will be spending the rest of my evening trying on various imagination phases to see what works best.

    1. I will. Sage will be pleased to know he’s inspired you to new levels of goofiness! > Date: Sat, 20 Jul 2013 23:16:11 +0000 > To: reharris68@hotmail.com >

  2. Precocious kid? At the very least, an imaginative one!

    1. The imagination face seems to be serving him well so far! > Date: Mon, 22 Jul 2013 00:48:17 +0000 > To: reharris68@hotmail.com >

  3. I live to see that face on my students when they’re writing 🙂

    1. I hope their expressions are due to inspiration rather than hidden pot stashes…

Leave a comment