The Lullaby

Sage, Chaussette, gloveSage was lying on the floor with the dozing Chaussette tonight and decided to sing her a lullaby. He sang the lyrics to “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star,” but the melody was his own creation: a lilting little tune sung so softly and sweetly that I felt tears well up. I didn’t have a camera or voice recorder to capture his song, but it’s just as well; the moment was so intense in its evanescence, I suspect that when I am old and Sage is grown, listening to it again would break my heart. It’s a moment best remembered but not re-lived: a moment of unexpected beauty.

P.S. Since I didn’t have the camera out, I’m posting another moment of boy-and-his-dog bonding instead.

Leave a Reply

